The SmartGrowth Leadership Group is a governance group responsible for prioritising, reviewing and monitoring the implementation of the SmartGrowth Strategy 2051.

SmartGrowth provides a vision and for developing the western Bay of Plenty into a great place to live, learn, work and play. The strategy identifies opportunities for building the community, taking into account a range of environmental, social, economic and cultural factors.


Membership is made up of representatives from the three partner councils (Tauranga City Council, Western Bay District Council and Bay of Plenty Regional Council), tangata whenua, the NZ Transport Agency and the Bay of Plenty District Health Board.

Independent Chairperson:  Peter Winder

Bay of Plenty Regional Council

  • Cr Jane Nees on behalf of Chairman Leeder
  • Cr Stuart Crosby
  • Cr Paula Thompson
  • Cr Ron Scott (alternate)

For details of SmartGrowth Leadership Group’s full membership, meeting agendas, papers and meeting schedule please refer to the SmartGrowth BOP website.

More information

Related links