Bay of Plenty Regional Council has 14 councillors, with 11 of these councillors elected from four general constituencies – Tauranga (five councillors), Rotorua, western Bay of Plenty and eastern Bay of Plenty (two each), while voters on the Māori roll elect one councillor from three Māori constituency areas – Kōhi, Mauao and Ōkurei.

Councillors

These are the elected members of Bay of Plenty Regional Council for the 10th Triennium 2016 - 2019.

Chairman and Deputy Chair

Doug Leeder

Eastern Bay of Plenty

160 Gabriels Gully Road, RD 2, Ōpōtiki 3198

Home ph: 07 315 4839 
Mobile ph: 027 292 8048

douglas.leeder@boprc.govt.nz

Jane Nees

Western Bay of Plenty

440B Joyce Road, Pyes Pa 
Tauranga 3173

Home ph: 07 579 5150 
Work ph: 07 579 5150 
Mobile ph: 027 485 9919

jane.nees@boprc.govt.nz

General Constituency Councillors

John Cronin

Tauranga

16 Fifth Avenue 
Tauranga 3110

Home ph: 07 578 0001 
Mobile ph: 021 578 001 
Fax: 07 578 0002

john.cronin@boprc.govt.nz

Stuart Crosby

Tauranga

11 Bucklands Crescent 
Papamoa 3118

Mobile ph: 0274 319920

stuart.crosby@boprc.govt.nz

Andrew von Dadelszen

Tauranga

2/115 Fourth Avenue 
Tauranga 3110

Home ph: 07 578 7453 
Mobile ph: 021 762 440

andrew.vondadelszen@boprc.govt.nz

Paula Thompson

Tauranga

69 The Drive, Brookfield 
Tauranga 3110

Home ph: 07 576 1373 
Work ph: 07 576 1373 
Mobile ph: 027 222 2419

paula.thompson@boprc.govt.nz

David Love

Tauranga

20 Rexford Heights, Pyes Pa 
Tauranga 3112

Home ph: 07 543 2118 
Work ph: 07 572 4000 
Mobile ph: 027 427 3601

david.love@boprc.govt.nz

Lyall Thurston

Rotorua

19 Moncur Drive, Springfield 
Rotorua 3015

Home ph: 07 348 6768 
Mobile ph: 0274 966 499

lyall.thurston@boprc.govt.nz

Kevin Winters

Rotorua

4 Frisken Place, Lynmore 
Rotorua 3010

Home ph: 07 345 4776 
Mobile ph: 0275 589 947

kevin.winters@boprc.govt.nz

Bill Clark

Eastern Bay

2752 SH30, Onepū, RD2 
Whakatāne

Home ph: 07 322 8401

bill.clark@boprc.govt.nz

 

Norm Bruning

Western Bay

1245 State Highway 2, RD 2, Ōmokoroa 
Tauranga 3172

Home ph: 07 548 0617 
Work ph: 07 548 0617 
Mobile ph: 021 125 6958

norm.bruning@boprc.govt.nz

 

Māori Constituency Councillors

Matemoana McDonald

Mauao

37 Waikari Road, Matapihi RD5 
Tauranga 3175

Mobile ph: 0274 954 820

matemoana.mcdonald@boprc.govt.nz

Arapeta Tahana

Ōkurei

1597 State Highway 30, RD4                                       
Rotorua 3074

Mobile ph: 021 348 748

arapeta.tahana@boprc.govt.nz

Tiipene Perenara Marr

Kōhi

9 Louis Place, Hillcrest
Rotorua 3015

Home ph: 07 348 0851 
Mobile ph: 027 370 1126

tiipene.marr@boprc.govt.nz

 

Constituency maps

View our general and Māori constituency maps.

Bay of Plenty Regional Council has 14 councillors. Voters on the general roll elect 11 of these councillors from four general constituencies – Tauranga (five councillors), Rotorua, western Bay of Plenty and eastern Bay of Plenty (two each). Voters on the Maori roll elect one councillor from three Maori constituency areas – Kōhi, Mauao and Ōkurei.

BOP general constituencies

Constituency and seat numbers

  • Mauao: one
  • Ōkurei: one
  • Kōhi: one

BOP Maori constituencies

Elected Members Code of Conduct 

The Local Government Act 2002 requires all local authorities to adopt a Code of Conduct. The Code of Conduct was adopted by Council at the beginning of the ninth triennium. It sets out the principles of good conduct and standards of behaviour expected of the elected members of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

Representation Review

Bay of Plenty Regional Council is currently reviewing its representation arrangements. Find out more on our Representation Review page.

Elections

Find the final election results for the 2016 Local Body Elections, and the  2017 By-election for the Mauao Māori Constituency.