A Freshwater Futures community group has been established for the Kaituna/Maketū catchments, to inform the development of changes to the Regional Natural Resources Plan.

The group's area of interest includes Maketū, Pāpāmoa East, Rangiuru, Te Puke, Ōkere Falls, Mangorewa and Waiari River catchments, and Kaharoa. Their work will result in a draft plan change that sets objectives, limits and methods (including rules) for improving the way water quality and quantity is managed locally.

So far, the group has discussed:

  • The process for implementing the National Policy Statement for Freshwater Management and what values should be provided for.
  • The current state of water quality, quantity and ecology in the catchment's rivers, groundwater, wetlands and Maketū Estuary.
  • Logical geographic areas for establishing water management objectives (Freshwater Management Units).
  • What an acceptable state of in-river values such as ecosystem health, swimmability and mahinga kai (food gathering) might look like in local waterways, and how that could be measured.

Community group members were appointed following a call for expressions of interest in 2015. As a collective they provide a broad range of feedback and information based on their experience and perceptions as local residents, iwi, businesspeople, councillors and industry, agency, recreation or environmental interest group representatives.  As at January 2019 members included:

Barry Roderick

Brian Thomas

Cor Verwey

Claudia Hellberg

Hendrik Metz

Hohepa Maxwell

Ian Schultz

Jessica Dean

Jeff Fletcher

John Fenwick

Jon Fields

Julian Fitter

Manu Wihapi

Mary Dillon

Matthew Leighton

Morgyn Bramley

Murray Linton

Nick Webb

Paul van den Berg

Paula Thompson (Regional Councillor)

Peter Ellery

Richard Fowler

Vivienne Robinson

Warren Webber




Related downloads