Elections of members of the Bay of Plenty Regional Council Toi Moana are held once every three years, on the second Saturday in October. If you're thinking about standing for local government, have a read of Standing for regional council.


Nominations open on Friday 19 July 2019 and close on Friday 16 August 2019 at 12pm. No nominations will be accepted outside this timeframe, nor will any incomplete or incorrect nominations that cannot be rectified in time.

Nominations can be scanned and emailed to Tone Nerdrum Smith sent by post to the Electoral Officer, Bay of Plenty Regional Council, PO Box 364, Whakatāne 3158 or hand delivered to Bay of Plenty Regional Council Office, 5 Quay Street, Whakatāne or Bay of Plenty Regional Council Office, 87 FirstAvenue, Tauranga.

Key contacts

Any enquiries regarding nominations or the elections can be directed to:

Warwick Lampp, Electoral Officer

Email: wlampp@electionz.com

Phone: 0800 666 048

Mobile: 021 498 517

Tone Nerdrum-Smith, Deputy Electoral Officer

Email: Tone.NerdrumSmith@boprc.govt.nz

Phone: 0800 884 881 extn. 8361

Mobile: 027 622 7248

Key dates for 2019 council elections

1 July 2019 Electoral Commission enrolment campaign starts.
19 July 2019 Nominations open for candidates. Nominations have to be sent to the electoral officer for the council district health board or licensing trust. Rolls open for inspection at council offices and other sites locally.
16 August 2019 Nominations close at 12 noon. Rolls close. After this date, anyone who is entitled to vote and who is not enrolled as an elector, or whose details are incorrectly recorded on the roll, will have to cast a 'special vote'.
21 August 2019 Election date and candidates' names publicised by electoral officers.
20-25 September 2019 Voting documents delivered to households. Electors can post the documents back to electoral officers as soon as they have voted.
12 October 2019 Polling day - the voting documents must be at the council before voting closes at 12 noon. Preliminary results (i.e. once all 'ordinary' votes are counted) will be available as soon as possible afterwards. 
17-23 October 2019
(or as soon as practicable)
Official results (including all valid ordinary and special votes) declared.

How can electors vote if they are not on the roll?

Electors have until mid-August 2019 to get on the roll before the rolls close for the local elections. After that date, if an eligible elector is not on the roll, or their roll details are wrong, they may cast a special vote. If their name is not on the roll they must apply to enrol before voting.

They may also cast a special vote if their voting papers are lost or damaged, or if they can satisfy the electoral officer that it would be too difficult to cast an ordinary vote. Anyone wanting to cast a special vote must contact the electoral officer by the day before polling day at the latest.

  • Enrol now: make sure you're enrolled and ready to vote.

The next elections will be held on 12 October 2019. By-elections are held when a vacancy occurs. The triennial elections of regional councils, city and district councils are held at the same time as elections for district health boards and licensing trusts.


The representation structure for the Council, as determined by the Local Government Commission. in December 2018, remains the same as the two previous elections.