30 September 2019

Eight individuals who, in total, have delivered 120 years to emergency management in the Bay of Plenty have had their dedication acknowledged at an awards ceremony held in Tauranga on Friday (subs 27 September 2019).

The Minister of Civil Defence Hon Peeni Henare, together with Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Joint Committee Chair, Tauranga Mayor Greg Brownless, presented the awards for service ranging from 10 to 30 years.

Among the recipients, six had performed roles in the emergency management response to ex-Tropical Cyclones Debbie and Cook which caused storm damage and flooding in the Eastern Bay of Plenty in April 2017.

“These emergency managers have made a vital contribution to civil defence emergency management and to the wellbeing of our nation,” Peeni Henare said.

“They have been there to serve our communities during times of emergency, and have worked tirelessly and passionately to build and improve civil defence emergency management systems and processes.”

Ōpōtiki District Council staff member Errin Wilmhurst and Ōpōtiki volunteer Duff Intemann received 10, 20 and 30-year awards.

Ten-year long service awards were presented to John Morris and Tim Senior (Bay of Plenty Regional Council); Mary-Anne Macleod and Shelley Hey (former BOPRC staff members); Liz Southey (Tauranga City Council) and Clinton Naude (Director Emergency Management Bay of Plenty).

“Emergency Management attracts dedicated and talented people, and the Long Service Award recipients are representative of the commitment we see right across the sector,” Minister Henare concluded.

BOP Civil Defence

Caption - from left: Hon Peeni Henare, Liz Southey (Tauranga City Council – 10 year Award), Mary-Anne Macleod (10 year Award), John Morris (Bay of Plenty Regional Council – 10 year Award), Clinton Naude (BOP CDEM Group – 10 year Award), Errin Wilmhurst (Ōpōtiki District Council – 10, 20, 30 year Awards), Duff Intemann (Ōpōtiki District Council 10, 20, 30 year Awards), Shelley Hey (10 year Award), Mayor Greg Brownless Chair of the Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Joint Committee.