The Public Transport Committee operates under the Land Transport Management Act 2003. It implements and monitors public transport strategy and policy.

Specific responsibilities are:

  • Setting the operational direction for Council public transport policy and strategy, and monitoring how both are implemented.
  • Preparing and reviewing the Bay of Plenty Regional Public Transport Plan and significant variations to it for regional council approval.
  • Approving non-significant changes to the plan, and submissions to central government, local authorities and other agencies on transport issues.
  • Receiving reporting on passenger transport activity performance.
  • Advising the Council on transport matters.
  • Approving the Bay of Plenty’s Road Safety Action Plan.

The committee is made up of representatives from Bay of Plenty Regional Council, each Bay of Plenty territorial authority and the New Zealand Transport Agency.

Terms of reference

Committee membership

Organisation Representative(s) Alternate
Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Councillors Lyall Thurston (Chair)
  • Councillors Norm Bruning (Deputy Chair)
  • Chairman D Leeder (Ex-Officio)
  • Councillors Stuart Crosby, Jane Nees, Paula Thompson, Andrew von Dadelszen, Kevin Winters
 
Rotorua Lakes Council
  • Councillor Mark Gould
  • Councillor Tania Tapsell
Tauranga City Council
  • Councillor Terry Molloy
 
Western Bay of Plenty District Council
  • Councillor Don Thwaites
 

Meetings, agendas and minutes

Date/Te ra
Time/Taima
Location/Wahi Agenda Minutes

Friday 8 February

9:30am

Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Mauao Rooms, 87 First Avenue, Tauranga

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 29 March

9:30am

Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Mauao Rooms, 87 First Avenue, Tauranga

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 10 May

10:00am

Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Mauao Rooms, 87 First Avenue, Tauranga

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 9 August

9:30am

Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Mauao Rooms, 87 First Avenue, Tauranga

 

 

Note: Meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.

 

Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes
Friday 9 February  Agenda Minutes
Friday 11 May 

Agenda

Minutes
Thursday 16 August  Agenda Minutes
Friday 9 November  Agenda Minutes
Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes

Friday 17 February

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 5 May

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 23 June

Agenda

Minutes

Friday 25 August

Agenda

 

Minutes (revised)

Thursday 23 November

Agenda

Minutes