This committee’s main function is to implement and monitor Council’s legislative obligations to Māori people and to ensure and facilitate Māori input into community outcomes and policy development and implementation.

It also:

  • Monitors council compliance with its obligations to Māori.
  • Helps enhance the Māori people’s ability to contribute to decision-making.
  • Advises Council on effective ways to engage with Māori.
  • Identifies relevant emerging issues for the region relating to the Treaty of Waitangi.
  • Receives iwi/hapū management plans.

Terms of reference

Committee membership

  • Chair - Councillor Arapeta Tahana
  • Deputy Chair - Councillor Tīpene Marr
  • Councillors - Bill Clark, David Love, Lyall Thurston, Matemoana McDonald.
  • Ex-officio - Chairman Doug Leeder

Meetings, agendas, and minutes

Date/Te ra
Time/Taima
Location/Wahi Agenda Minutes

Tuesday 12 February

9:30am

Tahuwhakatiki (Rōmai) Marae, 681 Welcome Bay Road, Waitao, Tauranga

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday 9 April

9:30am

Tapuaekura Rākeiao Marae, 110 Curtis Road, Tikitere, Rotoiti

Agenda

Minutes

Tuesday 11 June

9:30am

Wairuru Marae, 9860 State Highway 35 Raukōkore, Waihau Bay

Agenda Minutes

Thursday 15 August

9:30am

Huria Marae, 1 Te Kaponga Street Judea Tauranga.

Agenda

 

 

Tuesday 1 October

Cancelled

 

 

 

Note: Meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.

Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes
Tuesday 27 February 

Agenda 

  • Supporting Document - DRAFT He Korowai Mātauranga (Mātauranga Māori Framework) – An Internal Staff Resource (Please contact the Māori Policy section for further information about this publication)

Minutes 
Tuesday 24 April 

Agenda 

Minutes 
Tuesday 19 June  Agenda  Minutes 

Wednesday 22 August 

Agenda  Minutes 
Tuesday 9 October  Agenda  Minutes
Tuesday 4 December  Agenda Minutes
Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes

Friday 3 March

Agenda 

Minutes 

Thursday 27 April

Agenda 

Minutes 

Tuesday 20 June

Agenda 

Presentations

Minutes 

Wednesday 23 August

Agenda  Minutes 

Tuesday 10 October

Agenda  Minutes 

Tuesday 12 December

Agenda  Minutes 

e-Panui

An e-Panui (regular newsletter) is electronically distributed to iwi Māori in the region. The panui helps to inform iwi, whanau, hapū of news and activities, and to promote the work we do.

Subscribe online to receive news from Komiti Māori or email Komiti.Maori@boprc.govt.nz to be added to the mailing list.

Te rā/date Description
June 2019 Komiti Māori e-panui
April 2019 Komiti Māori e-panui
February 2019 Komiti Māori e-panui
October 2018 Komiti Māori e-panui
August 2018 Komiti Māori e-Panui
June 2018 Komiti Māori e-Panui