The Civil Defence Emergency Management Group is a joint committee that is required under the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002. It is governed by the Group's constitution which specifies its functions and powers, and reports directly to the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.


Committee membership

Organisation Representative(s) Alternate
Tauranga City Council

Mayor Greg Brownless (Chair)

Deputy Mayor Kevin Clout
Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Councillor David Love (Deputy Chair)

Chairman Doug Leeder
Ōpōtiki District Council Mayor John Forbes  Councillor Shona Browne
Kawerau District Council Mayor Malcolm Campbell Deputy Mayor Faylene Tunui
Rotorua Lakes Council Mayor Steve Chadwick  Deputy Mayor David Donaldson
Whakatāne District Council Mayor Tony Bonne  Deputy Mayor Judy Turner
Western Bay of Plenty District Council Mayor Garry Webber  Deputy Mayor Mike Williams

Meetings, agendas, and minutes

Only the most recent agendas and minutes are available on our website. Please contact us if you would like copies of older documents.

Note: all minutes are draft until confirmed at a subsequent meeting of this group.

Date/Te ra
Location/Wahi Agenda Minutes

Friday 22 March


Tauranga City Council, Council Chambers, 91 Willow Street, Tauranga



Friday 21 June


Rotorua Lakes Council, Council Chambers, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua

Agenda Minutes

Friday 27 September


Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Mauao Rooms, 87 First Avenue, Tauranga



Monday 16 December


Whakatane District Council, Council Chambers, 14 Commerce St, Whakatāne



Note: Meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.