The purpose of the Forum (as set out in Ngāti Manawa Claims Settlement Act 2012 and the Ngāti Whare Claims Settlement Act 2012) is the protection and enhancement of the environmental, cultural, and spiritual health and wellbeing of the Rangitāiki River and its resources for the benefit of present and future generations.

Terms of reference

Standing orders

Committee membership

Organisation Representative(s) Alternates
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Manawa
  • Maramena Vercoe (Chair)
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whare
  • Te Waiti Rangiwai (Deputy Chair)
  • Jose Miki
Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • CouncillorBill Clark
  • Councillor Tīpene Marr
  • Councillor Kevin Winters
  • Councillor David Love
  • Councillor Matemoana McDonald
Ngāti Tuwharetoa (BOP) Settlement Trust 
  • Clifford Te Riini
  • Paora Hunia
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Awa
  • Miro Araroa
  • Tuwhakairiora O'Brien
Hineuru Iwi Trust
  • Ivy Kahukiwa Smith
  • Janice Wall
Tūhoe Te Uru Taumatua
  • Ngapera Rangiaho
Whakatāne District Council
  • Councillor George Johnston
  • Councillor Alison Silcock
Taupō District Council 
  • Councillor Tangonui Kingi
  • Deputy Mayor Rosie Harvey
Ngāti Tuwharetoa
  • Ngatoru Wall
  • Whakaeke Ritete

About the forum

The Rangitaiki River Forum was formed in May 2012 by law to protect and enhance the mauri (life-giving capacity) of the Rangitaiki River and its tributaries.

The Forum is a partnership made up of representatives from Ngati Whare, Ngati Manawa, Ngati Awa, Hineuru,Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay of Plenty), as well as elected members from Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Taupo District Council and Whakatane District Council.

These partners are working together to set the direction of how we look after the Rangitaiki River.

The treaty settlements of Ngati Whare and Ngati Manawa created two pieces of legislation:

These Acts of Parliament established the Rangitaiki River Forum. 

For any enquiries about the Forum's work, please contact the Rangitaiki Forum Strategic Advisor on 0800 884 880 or

Meetings, agendas, and minutes



Date/Te ra
Location/Wahi Agenda Minutes

Friday 1 March




Friday 7 June


Whakatāne District Council, Council Chambers, 14 Commerce Street, Whakatāne



Friday 6 September


Reception Lounge, Edgecumbe War Memorial Hall, Kauri Street, Edgecumbe



Note: Meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.





Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes
22 November Agenda  Minutes