Skip to main content


Community Group FAQs

Bay of Plenty Regional Council has set up three groups in the Kaituna and Maketū, Pongakawa and Waitahanui and Rangitāiki Catchments.

Council is setting freshwater quality and quantity (allocation) limits in our region under the National Policy Statement for Freshwater Management 2014 (Freshwater NPS). The community groups will help provide Council with local knowledge, and advice on how we manage our freshwater into the future.

The three groups cover three areas:

Kaituna and Maketū Pongakawa and Waitahanui Rangitāiki
  • Maketū
  • Pāpāmoa East
  • Rangiuru
  • Te Puke
  • Ōkere Falls
  • Kaharoa
  • Mangorewa River Catchment
  • Kaharoa
  • Little Waihī
  • Paengaroa
  • Pukehina
  • Ohinepanea
  • Ōtamarākau
  • Pongakawa
  • Thornton
  • Edgecumbe
  • Te Teko
  • Te Māhoe
  • Waiōhau
  • Galatea
  • Murupara
  • Whirinaki (Minginui, Te Whaiti, Ngāputahi)
  • Rerewhakaaitu
  • Rangitāiki at SH 5


Why do we have freshwater community groups?

There are many different interests in our freshwater resources. The community groups are to represent these interests so that a wide range of voices are heard when making decisions on how water quality is maintained or improved and how water is allocated.

These groups are ‘think-tanks’ - groups to share knowledge and views about freshwater for each catchment on behalf of their communities. We will also engage the wider community on rule and policy changes later in the process.


Who is on the community groups?

Bay of Plenty Regional Council looked for open-minded team-orientated individuals, people who can represent the views of their communities and are able to participate over a likely two-year period.

Each group has members from various local groups, communities and geographic areas in the catchment. Many members have links to more than one group or more than one community.  For example:

Community Interests

  • Māori
  • Urban
  • Rural
  • Recreational
  • Farm
  • Environmental groups
    (e.g. Care Groups)
  • Forestry
  • Horticulturalists
  • Youth/schools
  • Electricity
  • Tourism
  • Wood processing
  • Food gatherers.

Local stakeholder interests

  • Land Trusts
  • Local government
  • Department of Conservation
  • Fish and Game
  • Forest and Bird
  • Taiapure (fisheries management).

How were members selected?

Approximately 20-25 members were selected for each group by an independent Selection Panel. Members were selected to represent different interests and locations, for example, someone with recreational interests, and another with farm interests, someone from the upper catchment and another from lower in the catchment.

How do these community groups run?

The group members work together at structured and facilitated workshops organised by Regional Council.

What if I want to participate but have not been selected for the community group?

You can still have your say. You can keep in touch and talk to your representatives on the community group, sign up to the contact list.  You can talk directly with Council’s Catchment Manager in your area.  There will be opportunities for all people to comment on a draft plan change.

Are the community group members paid?

Members volunteer their time, but can apply to the Council for travel reimbursement and honorariums.

People whose jobs require them to participate shouldn’t expect payment in addition to their salary/wages.

More information

For more information please phone 0800 884 880 or email

For the Kaituna and Maketū and Pongakawa and Waitahanui groups, contact Pim de Monchy (Manager Kaituna Catchments, 0800 884 880 extension 8518, ).

For the Rangitāiki group, contact Simon Stokes (Manager Eastern Catchments, 0800 884 880 extension 9378,