Skip to main content


Home > Our region and environment > Rivers and Drainage > Kaituna Catchment Control Scheme

Kaituna Catchment Control Scheme

The Kaituna Catchment Control Scheme includes the catchments of Lakes Rotorua and Rotoiti as well as the catchment of the Kaituna River. The whole catchment area covers 1,250 square kilometres (125,000 ha).

Kaituna Catchment Control Scheme Advisory Group


Membership of the Rivers Scheme Advisory Groups is representative of the different interests and locations within the scheme areas. The groups are designed to share knowledge and views on scheme management matters on behalf of local scheme ratepayers. The groups’ advice on community values, objectives and possible solutions will help us make the best decisions for our river scheme projects, capital works, maintenance programmes and flood repairs.

More information on membership and the role of the advisory group can be found in the Terms of Reference.

Member Name  Area Representing   
 Warren Webber  Rotorua urban (v)  
 Roger Hintz  Lower Kaituna basin (v)  
 Barry Roderick  Lower Kaituna basin (v)  
 Dave Hurst  Lower Kaituna basin (v)  
 Graham Thompson  Lower Kaituna basin (v)  
 Richard Weld  Lower Kaituna basin (v)  
 Nick Chater  Rotorua Lakes Community Board elected representative (nv)  
 Councillor Kevin Marsh  Western Bay of Plenty Council elected representative (nv)  
 Peter Dine  Rotorua Urban and Rotorua Lakes Council staff technical representative (v)  
  v = voting representative   nv = non-voting representative  


Advisory group meetings are held twice a year, usually in March and September, and are chaired by elected Bay of Plenty Regional Councillors. The Kaituna Catchment Control Scheme meetings are chaired by Councillor Bill Clark with Councillor Norm Brunning as deputy chair.

Date Agenda Meeting Notes
05 September 2018 Agenda - 05 September 2018  (29KB, pdf)  
 19 February 2018  Agenda - 19 February 2018   (84KB, pdf)  Draft Meeting notes - 19 February 2018  (720KB, pdf)
 31 October 2017  Agenda - 31 October 2017   (71KB, pdf) 

 Meeting notes - 31 October 2017   (198KB, pdf) 

Catchment overview

The Kaituna River starts at the outlet of Lake Rotoiti at Okere Arm and enters the sea at Te Tumu near Maketu. It passes through a steep, narrow gorge, well known for its white water rafting, before meandering through the alluvial terraces of the mid Kaituna River and the peat and sand deposits of the lower Kaituna basin.

Lakes Rotorua and Rotoiti contribute a large proportion of the everyday flows. The Mangorewa River is a majority tributary, which contributes greatly to flood flows in the Kaituna River. Other significant tributaries include the Waiari, Ohineangaanga, Raparapahoe and Kopuaroa Streams, which drain the hill country behind Te Puke.

Scheme overview

In the Upper Kaituna area the scheme consists of:

  • 10 kilometres of stopbank through the Rotorua urban area
  • Significant areas of soil conservation works where most streams have been fenced and planted with native or exotic vegetation or allowed to regenerate.
  • Flood protection stopbanks on Waingaehe, Puarenga, Utuhina and Waiowhero Streams through the Rotorua urban area.
  • Stream clearing, straightening and construction of floodways on Ngongotaha and Waiteti Streams to minimise flooding.
  • Level control structures on Lakes Rotorua (Ohau Channel Weir) and Rotoiti (Okere Control Gates). For more information on Okere Gates and Ohau Weir, please click here.

In the Lower Kaituna area the scheme consists of:

  • 69 kilometres of stopbank.
  • 99 kilometres of canals and drains.
  • Seven pump stations (and 14 pumps).
  • Three weir structures.
  • Five major floodgate structures.
  • Riverbank protection - six kilometres of planting and 1.5 kilometres of rock or rubble.
  • Mole/groyne structure at the river mouth.

Scheme maps

Kaituna River Scheme Rating Map (543KB, pdf)

Kaituna Drainage Scheme Maps

  • Index (192KB, pdf)
  • A1 (352KB, pdf)
  • A2 (464KB, pdf)
  • B1 (274KB, pdf)
  • B2 (389KB, pdf)
  • C1 (301KB, pdf)