Skip to main content


Our Region

Our Region 600The Bay of Plenty is on the east coast of the North Island of New Zealand. The region takes in the full sweep of the coastline from Lottin Point in the east, to Waihi Beach in the west.

Inland, the region is mostly bound by the watersheds of the catchments flowing into the Bay of Plenty. This includes the lakes in the Rotorua district. On the ocean side, the region includes 18 offshore islands extending out to the 12 nautical mile boundary.

The area of the region is 21,837 square kilometres comprising 12,254 square kilometres of land and 9,583 square kilometres of coastal marine area.

Regional features 

The prominent features of the region include islands such as Matakana, Mayor (Tuhua) and an active volcano, Whakaari/White Island. Other distinctive landmarks include Mt Maunganui, Mt Tarawera and Putauaki (Mt Edgecumbe), the Tauranga and Ohiwa Harbours and the lakes in the Rotorua district. There are also five other major estuaries - the Maketu, Little Waihi, Whakatane, Waiotahi and Waioeka/Otara estuaries.

The region extends inland, generally to the ridge of the catchments which drain into the Bay of Plenty. The furthest point from the coast, the top of the Rangitaiki River catchment, is 139 kilometres from the sea. The eight major rivers emptying into the bay are the Wairoa, Kaituna, Tarawera, Rangitaiki, Whakatane, Waioeka, Motu and Raukokore Rivers.

The Taupo Volcanic Zone crosses the region in a line from Lake Taupo to White Island. Two major features of this zone are the extensive geothermal areas and the number of earthquake fault lines which run parallel to the zone.


Regional Mapping

Our mapping pages and applications allow you to view the region online - through maps and photographs and includes both historic and frequently updated data.



Getting around our region

Find out about public transport and other regional council supported transport options.