Skip to main content


Home > About council > Meetings and agendas > Committee structure > Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority > Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority - About Us

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority - About Us

 The Kaituna River and the Kaituna catchment are taonga (treasures) – valued for their clean water, healthy ecosystems, unique landscape, natural beauty, recreational and cultural values.

Okere Falls

Who is Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority?

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is the co-governance partnership set up by the Tapuika Claims Settlement Act 2014. It is made up of iwi representatives from Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust, Te Kapu Ō Waitaha, Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust, Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust and Te Komiti Nui o Ngāti Whakaue, and council representatives from the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Tauranga City Council. It is a permanent joint committee of the four councils.

 TMoK Logo 2

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority Members

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority representatives:

  Representative Alternate representative
Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust Dean Flavell (chairman) Dr Bryce Kihirini
Te Kapu Ō Waitaha/Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust TBA TBA
Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust Hakopa Paul Piki Thomas
Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust – (Ngāti Rangiwewehi)  Rikihana Hancock Nicki Douglas

Te Komiti Nui o Ngāti Whakaue

Maria Horne Raymond Pou Poasa
Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Cr Arapeta Tahana (Deputy Chairman)

Cr Jane Nees

Cr Matemoana McDonald
Rotorua Lakes Council Cr Tania Tapsell Mr Nick Chater
Western Bay of Plenty District Council Cr Kevin Marsh Cr John Scrimgeour
Tauranga City Council Cr Steve Morris Cr Terry Molloy

class photo


Back row from left to right: Raymond Pou Poasa, Rikihana Hancock, Cr Kevin Marsh, Cr Steve Morris, Cr Mark Gould standing in for Cr Tania Tapsell, Cr John Scrimgeour.

Front row from left to right: Pia Callaghan, Maria Horne, Deputy Chairman - Cr Arapeta Tahana, Chairman - Dean Flavell, Cr Jane Nees, Maru Tapsell, Hohepa Maxwell

Members not present: Cr Tania Tapsell, Nick Chater, Cr Terry Molloy, Gina Mohi, Hakopa Paul and Piki Thomas

What do we do?

The purpose of Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is to promote the restoration, protection and enhancement of the environmental, cultural and spiritual health and well-being of the Kaituna River. One of their key functions is to develop and approve The Kaituna River Document.

What have we done so far?

In June 2018, The Kaituna River Document; Kaituna he taonga tuku iho, a treasure handed down (PDF, 11,000KB) was approved and launched.

It will come into effect on 1 August 2018. Read more about the document.

The document was developed in consultation with the community and has incorporated feedback received through a public submissions and hearing process which was run from September 2016 to July 2017.

You can view the steps that were taken to develop Kaituna he taonga tuku iho - a treasured gift to us.

Copies of the original submissions, summaries of submissions and the hearing schedule are available online.

What’s next?

  • Now that the Kaituna River Document has been approved, changes will be made to Regional, City and District plans to give effect to it.
  • An Action Plan for the Kaituna River and its tributries will also be put in place.


Check out our FAQs for more information about Te Maru O Kaituna River Authority and The Kaituna River Document.



Read the lastest media release here

If you would like to receive updates, please email


If you would like to be involved or understand more about the Action Plan or The Kaituna River Document, please email or call Anaru Vercoe or Jo Watts on 0800 884 880.