Skip to main content


Home > About council > Meetings and agendas > Committee structure > Tauranga Moana Advisory Group

Tauranga Moana Advisory Group

The Te Awanui Tauranga Harbour Advisory Group has been renamed the Tauranga Moana Advisory Group, as agreed by the Advisory Group at its meeting on 26 May 2017.

Key committee information

Meetings, agendas and minutes


Date/Te ra Time/Taima Location/Wahi Agenda                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Minutes                                                
Friday 23 February Cancelled Meeting    
Friday 25 May         9.30am Tauranga Volunteer Coastguard, 72 Keith Allen Driver, Sulphur Point, Tauranga. Agenda 0.99MB, pdf Minutes 91.3KB, pdf
Friday 10 August 9.30am Classic Flyers, Boeing Room, 9 Jean Batten Drive, Mount Maunganui Agenda 4.74MB, pdf Minutes 131KB, pdf
Friday 16 November 9.30am Club Mount Maunganui
Cruise Deck
45 Kawaka Street
Mount Maunganui

 Note:  meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.



Date/Te ra



Friday 24 February

Agenda 5.63MB, pdf

Minutes 68.5KB, pdf

Friday 26 May

Agenda 327KB, pdf

 Minutes 89.7KB, pdf

Thursday 24 August

Agenda 8.44MB, pdf    Minutes 85.7KB, pdf

Friday 24 November

 Agenda 3.12MB, pdf  Minutes 110KB, pdf



Date/Te ra           Agenda Minutes

26 February

Agenda 9.37MB, pdf

Minutes 62.1KB, pdf

20 May

Agenda 829KB, pdf

Minutes 65.1KB, pdf

26 August

Agenda 3.52MB, pdf

Minutes 75.2KB, pdf



The Tauranga Moana Iwi Collective Deed of Settlement, once passed into law, will require a Tauranga Moana Governance Group to be established. To prepare for the Governance Group, the Tauranga Moana Advisory Group was established. The first Advisory Group meeting was held on 17 November 2014 and it will continue to meet, share information and provide direction to staff of partner agencies until replaced by the Governance Group.


The role of participants is to:

  • Whakataurite - coordinate: oversee and contribute to the work that partners do in the harbour and catchments;
  • Whakarongo - listen: ensure the views of the hapū, iwi and wider community are represented in the work we do;
  • Whakawhanaungatanga - involve: promote and support hapū, iwi and the wider community participating in our work;
  • Whakatohatoha - share: provide regular updates to, and share information with partners;
  • Whakakotahi - integrate: promote the integration of our work so we can achieve our purpose together.


Chair - Councillor N Bruning, Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Deputy Chair – C Tawhiao, Ngāi Te Rangi

Bay of Plenty Regional Council - Councillors A von Dadelszen, P Thompson, M McDonald

Ngāti Ranginui – P Kawe, R Nelson

Ngāi Te Rangi – R Tuanau

Ngāti Pūkenga – R Smallman, K Tapsell

Western Bay of Plenty District Council – Councillors P Mackay, M Dean

Tauranga City Council – Councillors C Stewart, K Clout