Skip to main content


Home > About council > Meetings and agendas > Committee structure > Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group

Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group

The Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group is the overarching management group made up of representatives from Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Te Arawa Lakes Trust and Rotorua District Council. It coordinates policy and actions to improve the Rotorua lakes. The committee is now established in law, as part of the Te Arawa Lakes Settlement, for coordinated management of the Rotorua lakes.

Deed of Settlement of the Te Arawa Lakes Historical Claims and Remaining Annuity Issues (596 KB, pdf)

See the Office of Treaty Settlements website for:

  • Te Arawa Lakes Deed to Amend
  • Te Arawa Lakes Schedule
  • Te Arawa Lakes Settlement Summary

A Memorandum of Understanding (385 KB, pdf) has been developed between the Crown, Rotorua Lakes Strategy Group consisting of Te Arawa Lakes Trust, Rotorua District Council and Bay of Plenty Regional Council to assist the four partners in addressing the future of the Rotorua Lakes - in relation to the objective of maintaining or improving the water quality of the Rotorua Lakes through the Rotorua Lakes Protection and Restoration Action Programme.

Key committee information

Meetings, agendas and minutes


Date/Te ra        Time/Taima              Location/Wahi                        


Friday 9 March  10.30am Rotorua Lakes Council, Council Chambers, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua Agenda  8.63MB, pdf Minutes 58.1KB, pdf
Friday 15 June   10.30am Rotorua Lakes Council, Committee Room 1, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua

Agenda  3.6MB, pdf

Minutes 82.0KB, pdf 
Rescheduled from Friday 7 September  10.30am to Friday 2 November 9:30am Rotorua Lakes Council, Council Chambers, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua    
Friday 14 December  9.30am Rotorua Lakes Council, Council Chambers, 1061 Haupapa Street, Rotorua    

 Note: meeting date or venues may change - please check this page regularly.



Date/Te ra Agenda Minutes

Friday 10 March

Agenda 3.92MB, pdf

Minutes 163KB, pdf

Tuesday 27 June

Agenda 5.63MB, pdf

Minutes 83.4KB, pdf

Friday 8 September

Agenda 3.26MB, pdf Minutes 198KB, pdf

Friday 8 December

Agenda 2.01MB, pdf Minutes 64.1KB, pdf



Date Agenda Minutes
20 December

Agenda 1.70MB, pdf

Minutes 32.4KB, pdf


Previous triennium agendas and minutes

For previous triennium agendas and minutes please contact the Governance team on the details below.


Committee Membership

Chair -  Sir T. Curtis (Te Arawa Lakes Trust)

Deputy Chair - Mayor S. Chadwick (Rotorua Lakes Council)

BOPRC - Chairman D. Leeder,  K. Winters, Crs T. Marr (Alternate)

Rotorua Lakes Council - Crs K. Hunt, Deputy Mayor D. Donaldson (Alternate)

Te Arawa Lakes Trust - R Meha, W. Emery (Alternate)

Attendee:  Ministry for the Environment - S. Lewis


Terms of Reference

Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group Terms of Reference (40.8 KB, pdf) Adopted by Council 15 November 2016