Skip to main content


Home > About council > Kaupapa Maori > Co-governance


The Rangitaiki River Forum and Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority are examples of co-governance arrangements between Iwi and local government.  The Rangitāiki River Forum was the first co-governance entity to be established in the Bay of Plenty through Treaty of Waitangi settlement legislation (Ngati Whare and Ngati Manawa Claims Settlement Acts 2012). Through groups like these, the Bay of Plenty region is at the leading-edge of work to include and involve Iwi in local government decision-making processes.  

Rangitāiki River Forum

The Rangitāiki River Forum was formed in May 2012 by law to protect and enhance the mauri (life-giving capacity) of the Rangitāiki River and its tributaries. The Forum is a partnership made up of representatives from Ngati Whare, Ngati Manawa, Ngati Awa, Ngati Hineuru, Tuwharetoa (Bay of Plenty), as well as councilors from Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Taupo District Council and Whakatane District Council.

The Rangitāiki River Forum approved “Te Ara Whanui o Rangitāiki - Pathways of the Rangitāiki”[NS1]  on 16 December 2014.The Rangitāiki River Document is about the community’s aspirations for the River and ensuring a healthy River for the benefit of present and future generations.  This document sets out the vision, objectives and desired outcomes for the Rangitāiki River and its catchment.  The River Document was required by the Ngati Whare Treaty Claims Settlement Act 2012 and the Ngati Manawa Treaty Claims Settlement Act 2012.  

From the 9 October 2018, these aspirations have been recognised and provided for in the Regional Policy Statement  


Te Maru o Kaituna

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is the co-governance partnership set up under the Tapuika Claims Settlement Act 2014. The co-governance forum is made up of Iwi representatives from Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust, Te Kapu Ō Waitaha, Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust, Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust and Ngāti Whakaue, and council representatives from the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Tauranga City Council. It is a permanent joint committee of the four councils.

The purpose of Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is to promote the restoration, protection and enhancement of the environmental, cultural and spiritual health and well-being of the Kaituna River. One of the key functions of Te Maru o Kaituna is to develop and approve the Kaituna River Document.

The Kaituna River Document was approved by Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority on the 22 June 2018 and the river document took effect on 1 August 2018.