Skip to main content

Safe boating

The Bay of Plenty Harbour Limits are defined as all the tidal waters of the Bay of Plenty region from the northern-most point of Orokawa Bay to a line drawn northeasterly to the outer limit of the territorial sea, thence south-eastwards along the outer limit of the territorial sea to a position 12' due north of Lottin Point. Also included in the harbour limits are the Wairoa River from McLaren Falls downstream and the Kaituna River from Okere Road Bridge downstream.

Within these waters Bay of Plenty Regional Council is the statutory and regulatory harbour authority, with responsibility for navigation safety managed by our Harbour Masters. These responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Marine oil pollution response, mitigation and clean up at Tier II level
  • Navigation Safety Bylaw
  • Pilotage, licensing and exemptions
  • Administration of the swing moorings
  • Administration of all the legislation governing use and behaviour on the regional waters. These are; the local bylaws, Maritime Transport Act 1994, Resource Management Act 1991 and the Local Government Amendment Act 1999.

The region's harbours and navigable waterways include:

If you're out enjoying the region's lakes, rivers and beaches, make sure you know the navigation and safety rules

Download the Rena Exclusion Zone map (3.5MB, jpg)

Use these helpful recreation guides to plan your next boat trip:

Tauranga Harbour Guide Image       Whakatane and Ohiwa Harbour Guide Rotorua Lakes Guide 
Tauranga Harbour Guide

includes Kaituna River, Maketu
and Little Waihi Estuaries 
(3MB, pdf)

 Whakatane and Ohiwa Harbours Guide

Whakatane and Ohiwa Harbours Guide
includes Waioeka and Rangitaiki Rivers
(2.6MB, pdf)

Rotorua Lakes Guide

 (531KB, pdf)


 Need to service your lifejacket before going out on the water? Watch this helpful video.