Skip to main content

Water facts and figures

Freshwater in the Bay of Plenty

  • 10 major rivers - Wairoa, Kaituna, Tarawera, Rangitaiki, Whakatane, Waioeka, Motu, Raukokore, Otara and Whangaparaoa
  • 12 Rotorua lakes - Okareka, Okaro, Okataina, Rerewhakaaitu, Rotoehu, Rotoiti, Rotokakahi, Rotoma, Rotomahana, Rotorua, Tarawera, Tikitapu, plus many other regional lakes including Rotokawau, Matahina and Aniwaniwa

  •  3 major hydro dams

  •  267,744 people living in the Bay of Plenty (based on 2013 Census)

  • 37 iwi and over 200 hapu in the region

  •  Nine Water Management Areas established

Regional Council's work on water

  • 352.1km of stopbanks maintained to protect towns and rural land from river overflows.
  • 5 Bay of Plenty Regional Council integrated water management programmes currently underway: Te Awanui Tauranga Harbour, Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes, Ohiwa Harbour, Te Ara Whanui O Rangitaiki, and Kaituna/Maketu Pongakawa/Waitahanui water management programmes

  • We manage 1100+ consents to take and use water from ground and surface water sources. The total volume allocated to these consents is approximately 1.94 million m3 per day (equivalent to 22,500 litres per second - similar to typical summer flows in the Tarawera River!)
  • 700 river and stream flow measurements taken each year.

  • 25,000 water quality samples collected each year, to see what our water can tell us.
  • 5 major river and drainage schemes and 37 minor rivers and drainage schemes managed