Skip to main content

Rivers and Drainage

The Bay of Plenty region has eight major rivers emptying into the Bay, which are the Wairoa, Kaituna, Tarawera, Rangitaiki, Whakatane, Waioeka, Motu and the Raukokore river. The Bay of Plenty region map shows the location of these rivers.

Schemes have been put in place for Bay of Plenty rivers and streams to protect our communities from flooding. 

Rivers and Drainage Schemes

There are various schemes in place for rivers/streams to ensure that our communities are protected from flooding, river pathways changes and so on. In these schemes Bay of Plenty Regional Council works with the relating communities developing plans, practices, and various protection methods.

Rivers Health Warning

Our Rivers Health Warning page has information on algal blooms in our rivers, or contact us on 0800 884 800 for more information.

Asset Management Plan

Bay of Plenty Regional Council's asset management plan provides a document for the management of the rivers and drainage schemes. There is a particular focus on infrastructural assets.


In July 2004 the Eastern Bay of Plenty had a major flood event.

River levels

Bay of Plenty Regional Council has live monitoring pages where you can see up-to-date levels of the region's rivers.

Kaituna River and Ongatoro/Maketu Estuary Strategy

The draft Kaituna River and Ongatoro/Maketu Estuary Strategy sets out why people value the Kaituna River and Ongatoro/Maketu Estuary; their concerns and a vision for its future.

Management of the Kaituna River is affected by the operation of the Okere Gates.  Find out more about the Okere Gates here

Macroinvertebrate Monitoring

By monitoring macroinvertebrates, Bay of Plenty Regional Council can monitor the health of the region's waterways.