Skip to main content

Statutory Acknowledgements

Ngati Rangiwewehi and Ngati Rangiteaorere iwi updates


The Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao ā Toi (Statutory Acknowledgements in the Bay of Plenty) compendium document is now updated to
include the statutory acknowledgements for Ngati Rangiwewehi and Ngati Rangiteaorere iwi.

Additional pages, inserts and guidance notes for incorporating them, have been mailed to persons and/or organisations recorded as holding copies of Nga Whakaaetanga-ā-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi. If you hold a copy of the compendium document and were not sent copies of the new pages, please contact Planning Administration Officer Marie Radford at the Bay of Plenty Regional Council by telephoning 0800 884 881 extension 8328.

Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi (Statutory Acknowledgements in the Bay of Plenty)

Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi (Statutory Acknowledgements in the Bay of Plenty) is a compendium document to the Bay of Plenty Regional Policy Statement and regional plans.

Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi incorporates statutory acknowledgements arising from Treaty of Waitangi settlement legislation negotiated between teh Crown and iwi in the Bay of Plenty region. Iwi that currently have statutory acknowledgements are Ngati Awa, Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay of Plenty), Te Arawa (Lakes), affiliate Te Arawa iwi and hapū, Waitaha, Ngati Whare, Ngati Manawa, Ngati Makino. Tapuika, Ngati Rangiwewehi and Ngati Rangiteaorere.

A Statutory Acknowledgement is a formal acknowledgement by the Crown that recognises the particular cultural, spiritual, historical and traditional association of iwi with a site of significance or resource identified as a statutory area. The statutory areas include Crown land, geographic features, lakes, rivers, wetlands and coastal marine areas.

Under the Resource Management Act 1991, Deeds of Settlement and Settlement Legislation achieved with each iwi, regional, city and district councils are required to include statutory acknowledgments in relevant district and regional plans and policy statements, and to have regard to them in resource consent decision making.

The document is available printed ($12), electronically on CD or download from our website below. Contact the Regional Council if you want to purchase a printed document, or have a CD sent to you. Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi can also be inspected between 8am and 5pm, Monday to Friday at Council's three public offices at:

  • Quay Street, Whakatane
  • 1125 Arawa Street, Rotorua
  • 6 Rata Street, Mt Maunganui
  • 87 First Avenue, Tauranga

and at any public library or district and city council offices in the Bay of Plenty region.

View Nga Whakaaetanga-a-Ture ki Te Taiao a Toi (Statutory Acknowledgements in the Bay of Plenty):

Contact Details

  • Email:
  • Phone: 0800 884 880
  • Write to: Regional Policy Statement, Bay of Plenty Regional Council, PO Box 364, Whakatāne 3158