Skip to main content

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority - About Us

Kaituna Awa _19032017_0183

The Kaituna River and the Kaituna catchment are taonga (treasures) – valued for their clean water, healthy ecosystems, unique landscape, natural beauty, recreational and cultural values.

Have your say – kōrero mai

Submissions on the proposed document are now CLOSED

‘Kaituna, he tāonga tuku Iho – a treasure gifted to us’, is the Proposed Kaituna River Document, which aims to promote the restoration, protection and enhancement of the well-being of the Kaituna River and its tributaries.

Now is your opportunity to contribute to the development of the document that, once approved, will influence regional and district planning decisions. Submissions are open to all and we encourage you to have your say.

The document has been developed by Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority, and builds on the Kaituna River and Ongātoro/Maketu Estuary Strategy 2009. However, unlike the Strategy, it will require changes to regional and district plans about the management of the Kaituna River and its tributaries.

View the proposed document and make a submission here 


Click here to view the steps we are taking to develop Kaituna he taonga tuku iho - a treasured gift to us.

Who is Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority?

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is the co-governance partnership set up by the Tapuika Claims Settlement Act 2014. We are made up of iwi representatives from Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust, Te Kapu Ō Waitaha, Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust, Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust and Ngāti Whakaue, and council representatives from the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Rotorua Lakes Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Tauranga City Council. It is a permanent joint committee of the four councils.

Click on image below to enlarge

pie chart

Your Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority representatives are:

  Representative Alternate representative
Tapuika Iwi Authority Trust Dean Flavell (chairman) Pia Callaghan
Te Kapu Ō Waitaha Maru Tapsell Hohepa Maxwell
Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust Hakopa Paul Piki Thomas
Te Tāhuhu o Tawakeheimoa Trust – Ngāti Rangiwewehi  Gina Mohi Rikihana Hancock
Ngāti Whakaue Raymond Pou Poasa Maria Horne
Bay of Plenty Regional Council Cr Arapeta Tahana (Deputy Chairman) Cr Jane Nees
Rotorua Lakes Council Cr Tania Tapsell Mr Nick Chater
Western Bay of Plenty District Council Cr Kevin Marsh Cr John Scrimgeour
Tauranga City Council Cr Steve Morris Cr Terry Molloy

Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority Members February 2017

class photo

Back row from left to right: Raymond Pou Poasa, Rikihana Hancock, Cr Kevin Marsh, Cr Steve Morris, Cr Mark Gould standing in for Cr Tania Tapsell, Cr John Scrimgeour.

Front row from left to right: Pia Callaghan, Maria Horne, Deputy Chairman - Cr Arapeta Tahana, Chairman - Dean Flavell, Cr Jane Nees, Maru Tapsell, Hohepa Maxwell

Members not present: Cr Tania Tapsell & Nick Chater, Cr Terry Molloy, Gina Mohi, Hakopa Paul and Piki Thomas

What do we do?

The purpose of Te Maru o Kaituna River Authority is to promote the restoration, protection and enhancement of the environmental, cultural and spiritual health and well-being of the Kaituna River. One of our key functions is to develop and approve the Kaituna River Document.

What have we done so far?

In September 2016, we invited the public to tell us what they thought about the draft vision, objectives and desired outcomes and held an information session in Te Puke for anyone who wanted to know more, and to tell us in person what they thought.

We heard from over 100 people who are keen to help us to protect the treasured Kaituna River by putting shared aspirations into the document. 

Since then, we’ve incorporated this feedback into the proposed document, which is now open again to the public for formal submissions.  Once approved, the management of the Kaituna will then require changes to Council (Regional, City and District) plans.

Submissions opened on May 27 and will close at 4.00pm, 24 July. 


Check out our FAQs for more information about Te Maru O Kaituna River Authority and the proposed document 



Read the lastest media release here

If you would like to receive updates, please email


We’d love to hear from you. Contact us at or call Adam Fort or Clarke Koopu on 0800 884 880