Skip to main content

Land Use Futures Board

(Now disbanded)

The Land Use Futures (LUF) Board was an independent group of Rotorua lakes landowners and stakeholders appointed by the Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group for a three-year term, 2007-2010.

The primary purpose of the Land Use Futures Board was to give leadership to and advise on implementing sustainable land use management and change in the Rotorua Lakes catchments.

Land use change and sustainable management will help achieve the land-based component of nutrient reduction targets defined through various lake action plans.  Sustainability includes the economic, social, cultural and environmental well being of a community.

Bay of Plenty Regional Council provided in-kind support towards the Board.


  • Bill Cleghorn - Chairman Land Use Futures Board
  • Tom Walters - Te Arawa Federation of Māori Authorities
  • Roku Mihinui - Chief Executive Officer, Te Arawa Lakes Trust
  • Neil Heather
  • Tina Ngatai - Kaiwhakahaere a rohe, Maori Trust Office Waiariki
  • Warwick Murray - Group Manager Land Management, Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  • Dr. Nick Edgar - CEO, NZ Landcare Trust
  • Peter Guerin - Chief Executive, Rotorua District Council
  • John Ford - Highlands Station
  • Mike Bramley - Environment Extension Specialist, DairyNZ
  • Chris Sutton
  • Kit Richards - Forestry industry representative, PF Olsen Ltd
  • Stuart Morrison
  • Barnett Vercoe - Onuku Maori Lands Trust
  • Lee Matheson - Perrin Ag Consultants Ltd

Other contact:
Greg Corbett - Manager Land Resources (Rotorua), Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Agendas and Minutes